COVID Resource Center

United Collegiate Umpires Appointed New Jersey Athletic Conference Coordinator of Baseball Umpires

Mahwah, NJ – October 24, 2018 – United Collegiate Umpires (UCU) has been appointed New Jersey Athletic Conference (NJAC) Coordinator of Baseball Umpires.

“As an organization this partnership with the New Jersey Athletic Conference is significant as we continue to grow and evolve”, stated UCU Executive Vice-President, Alex Skandalis.

Skandalis continued, “I would like to thank Commissioner Small, the athletic directors and members of the NJAC search committee for their confidence in our program, demonstrated through this appointment. This is a tremendous development for UCU umpires in the Mid-Atlantic Region as the NJAC is always among the top Division III baseball conferences nationwide. I can’t wait to get it started and look forward to a long-standing relationship”

About United Collegiate Umpires

Founded in 2014, UCU supervises baseball conferences in Division I (America East, Ivy League, Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference, Northeast Conference), Division III (Atlantic East, Empire 8, Liberty, NEAC, and SUNYAC), NJCAA Region III and XIX, Interstate Collegiate Baseball League, Metropolitan Collegiate Baseball League, New England Collegiate Baseball League, and the New York Collegiate Baseball League. Offering superior continuing umpire education, UCU has participated in the implementation of training programs throughout the country, including several presentations made as part of the NCAA Umpire Improvement Program.

About New Jersey Athletic Conference

Founded in 1957, The New Jersey Athletic Conference is a college athletic conference affiliated with the NCAA’s Division III. Full members are in New Jersey. Affiliate members (track and football only) are in Delaware, Maryland, New York, and Virginia. The NJAC, called the New Jersey State Athletic Conference when founding institutional members Glassboro State College (now Rowan University), Montclair State College (now Montclair State University), Jersey City State College (now New Jersey City University), Newark State College (now Kean University), Trenton State College (now The College of New Jersey), and William Paterson College (now William Paterson University) collectively partnered to compete in intercollegiate competition. The NJAC has captured 63 NCAA Division III national team championships, including nine in baseball.

For More Information, contact:
Dan Miller, VP, Digital Media/Public Relations
[email protected]